Referendum Franchise

Flag of the Commonwealth

Flag of the Commonwealth

So, we now know who gets to vote in the EU referendum. To summarise:

  • 16 and 17 year olds do not get to take part;
  • also, under 16s do not get to take part;
  • EU citizens residing in the UK do not get to take part;
  • unless they are from Malta, or Cyprus, or Ireland – then they do;
  • British ex-pats who moved away within the last 15 years do get to take part;
  • Commonwealth citizens in the UK also get to take part;
  • residents of Gibraltar may take part (unless they are monkeys);
  • residents of the Falkland Islands may not take part (even if they are penguins);
  • despite repeated warnings from the European Court of Human Rights, prisoners will not get to take part; and
  • SNP MSPs do not get to take part (if they also happen to be from France).

Hope that’s all clear?

This is, of course, in preparation for the promised in/out referendum on the UK’s continued membership of the Commonwealth, for which EU citizens will have the vote, but no Commonwealth citizens will.

This entry was posted in Constitutional Law, European Law, News and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Referendum Franchise

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s